ElectionsFact CheckPolitics

PDP did not win all council seats at FCT elections as claimed by this Twitter user

Claim: A twitter user claims that the PDP won all chairmanship and councillor seats at the 2022 FCT polls.

Official results from INEC show that the PDP did not win all the chairman and councillor seats in the election.

Full Text

On February 13, 2022, a twitter user @Ahmed_Jimeta1 claimed that the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) had clinched all the chairmanship and councilorship seats at the just-concluded 2022 Federal Capital Territory (FCT) elections.

“PDP wins all chairmanship & councilorship seats in the council polls conducted by INEC Yesterday in FCT Abuja,” he posted.

Mr Jimeta’s post was widely shared, generating 165 Retweets, 25  Quote Tweets and 615 Likes.

Screenshot of the tweet

The elections were conducted on February 12, 2022 by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) into the six FCT area councils: Abaji, Abuja Municipal (AMAC), Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje and Kwali, and for 62 council seats in wards across the FCT.

A total of 14 political parties participated in the election., but two of them – All Progressives Congress (APC) and People’s Democratic Party (PDP), dominated the polls.


Reports of the official results released by the electoral umpire, INEC, indicates a contrary position to the claims of the twitter user.

INEC figures show that the PDP won the chairmanship seat in three area councils (Kuje, Bwari and Abuja Municipal), while the All Progressives Congress (APC) clinched Gwagwalada, Kwali and Abaji.

In Kuje, the PDP’s Suleiman Sabo polled 13,301 votes to defeat Sarki Hamidu of the All Progressive Congress (APC), who secured 7,694 votes. 

The PDP’s candidate, John Gabaya was re-elected for a second term in Bwari after scoring 13,045 votes ahead of the APC’s Audi Shekwolo who had 7,697 votes. 

Christopher Zakka of the PDP was declared the winner of the chairmanship seat in Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), having polled almost 20,000 votes to beat his closest rival, Murtala Karshi of the APC.

After the elections in Gwagwalada, Abubakar Jubrin of the APC was declared winner by INEC after scoring 11,125 votes against the 9,579 votes obtained by the PDP’s Kassim Mohammed.

In Abaji,  the APC scored 7,280 votes to defeat Yahaya Garba of the PDP, who polled 4,063 votes. INEC declared APC winner, but failed to announce any particular candidate due to an ongoing legal tussle between two of the party’s candidates, Muhammad Loko and Umar Abdullahi.

Elections in Kwali Area Council ended with the declaration of APC candidate, Danladi Chiya, as winner and chairman-elect of the council. Mr Chiya obtained 7,646 votes against the 7,345 votes of his closest rival, Haruna Pai of the PDP.

The PDP did not also clinch all the council seats in the election, as official results have shown. While the PDP clinched all the councillor seats in Kuje, in Gwagwalada, the party picked six council seats against the four won by the APC. In Abuja Municipal (AMAC), the PDP won 10 seats, while the APC won just two.


Contrary to the claim by Mr Jimeta in his twitter post that the PDP won all seats for chairman and councillor in the 2022 FCT elections, official results released by INEC showed that the PDP and APC shared the seats. For the chairmanship seats, the PDP won in three area councils, with the APC clinching the remaining three councils, just as candidates of both parties won councillor seats across the six area councils.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button