ElectionsHeadlineHomepageMedia Literacy

Off-season elections: Local Government Areas where elections will not hold in Bayelsa, Imo

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Three states, Bayelsa (south-south), Imo (southeast), and Kogi (north-central), will witness off-season elections on Saturday, Nov. 11, 2023. 

Out of the three current governors, only Kogi State’s Governor, Yahaya Bello, will not contest at the polls. Governor Douye Diri (People’s Democratic Party) of Bayelsa State and Governor Hope Uzodinma (All People’s Congress) of Imo state are active contenders in the off-season elections.

Ahead of the elections, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has listed and published Local Government Areas (LGAs) where polling exercises would not be observed. According to the document, no registered voter was recorded there.

While no area in Kogi state is mentioned on the list, Bayelsa state will not hold election exercises in two areas. Imo would not hold elections in 38 areas.

In Bayelsa state, both LGAs, Ekeremor, with the registration area Oyiakira IV, and Southern Ijaw, with the registration area East Bomo I, will not witness any election exercise on Saturday.

While in Imo State, the LGAs are Aboh Mbaise (Nguru-Ahiato), Aboh Mbaise (Nguru-Nwenkwo), Aboh Mbaise (Nguru-Nweke), Aboh Mbaise (Umuhu), Ahiazu Mbaise (Okirika Nwenkwo), Ezinhitte Mbaise (Ihitte), Ideato North (Ndi Iheme Arondizuogu), Ideato North (Ndi Iheme Arondizuogu), Isiala Mbano (Osuama/Anara) and Isu (Ekwe II).

Others are Njaba (Nkume), Ohaji Egbema (Ebema ‘A’), Ohaji Egbema (Umuagwo), Ohaji Egbema (Umuagwo), Ohaji Egbema (Umuagwo), Ohaji Egbema (Umuagwo), Orlu (Ohafor/Okporo/Umutanze), Orlu (Ohaeke/Okporo), Orlu (Okwua Bala/Ihioma) and Orlu (Orlu/Mgbee/Orlu Govt. Station).

Orlu (Orlu/Mgbee/Orlu Govt. Station), Orsu (Umuhu Okabia), Orsu (Ebenator), Orsu (Okwufuruaku), Orsu (Okwuamaraihie II), Orsu (Orsu Ihiteukwa), Orsu (Ihiteukwa), Orsu (Ihitenansa), Oru East (Awo-Omamma I) and Oru East (Awo-Omamma II) are also listed on the publication.

Finally, Oru East (Awo-Omamma II), Oru East (Awo-Omamma III), Oru East (Awo-Omamma IV), Oru East (Awo-Omamma IV), Owerri Municipal (Azuzu I), Owerri North (Emii), Owerri North (Orji) and Owerri North (Ihitta-Oha) are areas where the off-season elections would also not take place in Imo state.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button